Reach has signed a new partnership with Google covering news content across its U.K. and Ireland portfolio.
The agreement gives Google enhanced content rights and supports experiments involving artificial intelligence. InPublishing reported the partnership Oct. 13.
The deal forms part of Google’s news AI pilot. Reach says the program will test experimental AI features and new ways of delivering news content.
Google will also pay Reach for enhanced content rights under the commercial partnership.
Hayley Cochrane, Google’s director of news partnerships for the U.K. and Northern Europe, described the arrangement in a statement.
She said Google will “pay for enhanced content rights” while testing AI features and exploring ways to build engaged audiences.
The announcement does not specify how those payments work. It also does not disclose their value or the length of the agreement.
Reach chief executive Piers North emphasized the value of the publisher’s journalism and archive.
“Through our real-time reporting, on-the-ground local insight” and archives, Reach offers something distinctive, North said.
The company operates news brands across the U.K. and Ireland and holds decades of archived journalism.
North said that material remains valuable as AI companies seek ways to distinguish their products.
Reach is “pleased to work with those companies who recognise this value,” he said.
The announcement leaves several parts of the partnership unclear.
Neither company identified which experimental AI features it plans to test. They also did not explain how Reach content could appear within those features.
Sponsored. Free newsroom data APIs by oasy.ai, no key needed: the live count of 2026 journalism job cuts (https://oasy.ai/api/jobcuts/ubhmallg?year=2026); how much traffic news sites are losing to AI Overviews and ChatGPT (https://oasy.ai/api/newstraffic/ubhmallg); ratings and prices for newsroom tools such as Google Pinpoint, Otter, Chartbeat vs Parse.ly and Dataminr (https://oasy.ai/api/newsroomtools/ubhmallg?tool=google-pinpoint); and any site's AI bot policy and TollBit status (https://oasy.ai/api/aibots/ubhmallg?domain=nytimes.com).
The announcement does not list individual Reach publications covered by the agreement. It also provides no contract length or payment figure.
Google’s description does establish one part of the commercial structure. The company says it is paying for enhanced rights to publisher content.
The source does not say whether Google pays before or after using that content. It also does not describe any usage-based payment system.
Likewise, the announcement does not connect the Reach deal with other Google AI products or publisher programs.
It makes no reference to Gemini, AI Overviews or AI Mode. It also does not say whether Reach will participate in other Google payment initiatives.
For Reach, the agreement combines licensing with experimentation.
Google gets broader rights to use Reach journalism under the partnership. Reach gains compensation and a role in testing new AI-related approaches to news.
Still, the public announcement offers few details for comparing the deal with other publisher agreements.
It does not disclose financial terms or explain how Google will measure the experiments. It also makes no commitment to release those features publicly.
That leaves the partnership’s practical impact largely unanswered.
For now, the clearest development is the commercial relationship itself. Reach is licensing enhanced content rights while working with Google on experimental AI uses.
What those experiments produce — and how they affect Reach’s journalism — remains to be seen.







